I Favor the Villainess Extra 2

Something gained, something lost

※ This episode is set several months before the epilogue.


The Bauer Kingdom is in the transition period.
It’s not only nobles who are tossed about by the big event that is the revolution.
Ordinary citizens who were its supporters are also forced to deal with changes to their lives.
Shaking free from the Naa Empire’s interference, citizens of the Bauer Kingdom achieved a bloodless revolution, but that doesn’t mean the standard of living would improve immediately.
Rather, due to the effects of Sassal Volcano eruption and the temporary disorder from the revolution, it can be said the lives of citizens are worse than before the revolution.
In other words, there are all sorts of difficulties now.

“I understand that. I understand, but…”

There’s no Claire-sama with me right now.
Claire-sama is making every effort for the sake of establishing the new administration.
Actually, I also wanted to help, but unfortunately I am a layman in politics.
I wouldn’t amount much to a serious affair like establishing the new administration.
All I can do is be an errand girl per Claire-sama’s instructions, and――.

“Heal Claire-sama when she comes back tired, that’s about it”

What I’m now doing is cooking a cream stew in the academy dormitory kitchen.
Due to shortage of supplies, luxurious ingredients can’t be used much.
Especially vegetables, due to the bad harvest caused by the volcanic ash from the eruption.
What I can get my hands on is so poor it cannot be compared to the time the academy was a place for nobles.
Still, I’m using poor carrots and onions I somehow obtained.
The protein source in the past was mostly beef, but it’s an almost impossible-to-obtain luxury now.
To deliciously cook the chicken I somehow managed to obtain, I’m doing this and that.

“Rei”

I heard a high-pitched, yet strangely familiar to my ears, voice.
When I looked back, Claire-sama was standing there.

“Welcome home, Claire-sama. You’re early today, aren’t you?”
“I am home. The meeting turned disorderly… So that everybody could calm down, it was adjourned for today”
“Is that so. Sounds like it’s difficult”
“Yeah”

Saying so, Claire-sama sat on a chair and messaged her eyes.
I stopped what I was doing, washed my hands, and handed her a towel moistened with hot water.

“Please put it on your eyes. I think it’ll feel good”
“Thank you. Like this, I wonder… Aah… This is… effective…”

Like this Claire-sama motionlessly applied the towel for a few minutes.
She must be that tired.

“The opinions are divided on whether women should participate in politics. Naturally I am in support, however the opposite viewpoint is firmly rooted”
“I suppose so”

In in 21st century Japan matters such as women’s suffrage are natural, but in this world it’s by no means simple to implement participation of women in politics.

“In front of me they are still showing restraint, however the gentleman have a fundamental doubt. That is, whether women can understand politics?”

This again sounds like outrageous words in light of the common sense of the 21st century Japan, but the situation is vastly different between Japan and this Bauer.
First of all, there’s a problem with literacy rate and educational standards.
There are many women on the level of asking “What’s politics?” without either lying or joking.
Of course, former noble women are well-versed in liberal arts, and there are highly educated former commoner women.
But, such people make up only a small percentage of women as a whole.
Moreover, the number of women is high.
As a result of men being conscripted to military service in the conflict with the Naa Empire, in absolute numbers there are more women.
In such a situation, whether politics can actually work if women are allowed to participate isn’t just a problem that can be solved by pretty words.

“I believe unless women are first allowed to participate, nothing will begin. I believe it will lead to frequent confusion at first, however gradually it will work out”

Claire-sama is looking forward with optimism.
In reality, if women had to wait until all acquired the same education as contemporary men, women would be left behind from politics no matter how much time passed.
Besides, what’s necessary for politics is not only learned in school.
Awareness of issues stemming from daily life is indispensable for politics.
But, even if that is explained, it’s hard to make higher-ups of the new government understand.

“Prejudice against women is still firmly rooted”
“You’re right”

I lightly hugged Claire-sama from behind.
Claire-sama entrusted her body to me.
Her body temperature is comfortable.

“Somehow it smells good. What is for dinner today?”

For a while we connected ascertaining each other’s existence, but suddenly Claire-sama’s nose twitched and she said that.

“This evening it’s cream stew”
“My. It is a feast. And in times like these. It was difficult to prepare, right?”

Former noble Claire-sama is now fully aware of the food situation.
Claire-sama in an instant saw through my pains for the sake of preparing this dinner.

“Because it’s for Claire-sama. Let’s go back to the room and eat”
“Thank you, Rei. I am always grateful to you”

I felt everything I did was rewarded with those words alone.
We returned to the room, and on the dining table I served Claire-sama the stew and baguettes.
Honestly, I wanted to add some side dishes, but this stew is the best I could do tonight.
I also served my portion and sat down.

“Then, let’s eat”
“Let us eat”

Both of us put our palms together, then we started eating.

“! What a juicy chicken. Is such a good chicken available nowadays?”

Having tasted the stew, Claire-sama exclaimed happily.

“No, it’s the usual chicken breast meat. There was a little trick to its preparation”
“What did you do?”
“After lightly sprinkling salt and cooking alcohol on it and rubbing them in, I left it for a while. Then I thinly coated it all with starch”

Breast meat is a part that you have to worry about drying out if cooked as is, so I pre-treated it by the book.

“That’s all?”
“Yes. I wonder if it curbed drying out a little”
“It is not something like a little. I thought it was thigh meat”
“I’m grateful”

Claire-sama being pleased is the most important.
Even without obtaining satisfactory ingredients, depending on preparation food can be made far more delicious.
Of course, there’s nothing better than good ingredients.

“Phew… Thank you for the meal. It was very delicious. As expected of Rei”
“It was nothing much”

With these words, I served Claire-sama an after-meal coffee.
While looking over evening newspaper, Claire-sama sipped it.
Feeling Claire-sama’s presence behind me, I started cleaning up.
I like cooking, but washing dishes is a little annoying.

“Rei”
“What is it?”
“That is… When will we do it?”
“? Do what?”

Not understanding Claire-sama’s intentions, I asked for an explanation without looking back.

“Is it not obvious. Hold our wedding”
“!?”

I almost unconsciously dropped a plate.

“Wedding… Claire-sama, are you teasing me?”

The times are like this, moreover we are partners of the same sex.
I don’t think it’s realistic for us to hold a wedding now in any sense.

“Ara. Does Rei not want to marry me?”
“I want to”

I immediately answered.
There’s no way I would not want to.
I certainly want to.
However, while that may be true, whether it’s possible is another matter.

“In the first place, the new constitution hasn’t yet been created, and isn’t it likely that even in the new constitution same-sex marriage won’t be recognized?”

When I finished washing, I sat in front of Claire-sama and tried expressing my doubt.
Claire-sama closed the newspaper.

“Certainly, we cannot get married legally”

And easily admitted it.

“Right?”
“But, I do not believe there will be a particular problem with law with just a wedding”
“That means?”
“I am thinking of a ceremony where regardless of the law two people who want to get married have their relationship recognized by their families and friends”

What Claire-sama’s saying is similar to the concept of the civil wedding ceremony in 21st century Japan.
There are various forms of marriage ceremonies, Shinto style where you make vows before God, Buddhist style where you stand before Buddha, and such, but there’s also the civil style.
It’s not a religious ceremony, it has an implication of making vows to each other, it’s a style that was spreading among the young generation.
I couldn’t hide my surprise that Claire-sama holds such a value system in this world where old-fashioned value systems are dominant.

“I completely agree with that way of thinking, but there’s the problem of money?”

This world’s weddings also include a reception.
Holding a wedding is expensive, and it also costs those invited quite a lot.
When everybody is hard-pressed to make a living, even if we forced a wedding would they really come.

“Let us exploit the participants. Most of the people involved with us have decent positions in the new administration. There will be enough wealth to cover the ceremony, right”
“Aah, now that you mention it”
“Of course, I will cover the cost of Rei’s parents’ participation. There would be no meaning to the ceremony if they did not participate”
“No, I’ll cover it”

As a noble, Claire-sama’s assets were seized during the revolution, leaving only the bare minimum.
Even so, Claire-sama can normally live now thanks to citizens donating to her in honor of her achievements.
To be honest, I have more savings.
Since we’re living together I offered to share my assets, but Claire-sama refused.
Although we split living expenses equally, each of us manages money separately.

“Then, let us split that evenly. Anyway, Rei’s parents have to participate no matter what it takes”
“Haa…”

Claire-sama is looking forward to holding the ceremony anyway.
It’s not like I don’t want, but I think it’d be better if the situation calmed down more.
I don’t want to pour cold water on Claire-sama’s enthusiasm, so for now I decided to try to assess the situation a little more.

“Others who we will invite is the princes, Lene, Lambert, Misha, Father… I wonder if Onee-sama and Cardinal Lily would be difficult”
“I think princes, Manaria-sama, and Cardinal Lily would probably be impossible”
“I understand Onee-sama is far away and Cardinal Lily is under investigation, but why the three princes?”
“You seem to have forgotten, but Claire-sama is now a regular citizen. It would be difficult to have royalty attend the ceremony”
“Aah… Indeed”

I’m sure Claire-sama is mindful of it herself, but she seems unable to readily correct her common sense of a noble.
It must be in part because she meets important people of the new government and discusses with them as equals.
Although Claire-sama is a regular citizen, she has relationships with many prominent figures of the new governments.

“I should have known… however, after all it is disappointing. Then, who could come is Rei’s parents, Father, Lene and Lambert, and Misha, I wonder if that is all”
“What about Claire-sama’s friends from when you were a noble?”
“There are still children I exchange letters with… However, it would be difficult. It seems they are now doing their best to adapt to lives after losing the noble status”

What would happen to those who enjoyed wealth and various privileges since birth and suddenly lost them.
It wouldn’t be strange if many became homeless.
Of course, they were left assets to live as regular citizens, but it’s difficult for those who lived as nobles to immediately switch to living as ordinary citizens.

“Claire-sama, wouldn’t it be better to wait until the world settles down a little more? Then perhaps Claire-sama’s friends could also participate”
“What is it Rei. You have been vague for a while. Were the words that you want to marry me a lie?”
“No, they’re beyond doubt what I really think”
“In that case――!”

It looks like Claire-sama is impatient about something.
I don’t know the reason.
I reached out my hand and held Claire-sama’s hand.

“Why are you impatient, Claire-sama”
“…”
“We are already in a relationship where we confirmed our feelings to each other. We can have a wedding anytime. There’s no need to be impatient”
“… I am anxious”
“Anxious?”

Huh?

“Have I acted in some way that would make Claire-sama uneasy? If so, I’ll fix it, so please point it out”
“It is different! There is no problem with Rei. The problem is… me”
“? Where’s the problem with Claire-sama?”

Claire-sama is always perfectly lovely.

“After all, I… am no longer a noble…”
“… Ha?”

I couldn’t understand what Claire-sama was saying.
Unintentionally I raised a foolish voice.

“I am saying, I am no longer a noble? I have no status, no prestige, no assets. What I only have is education beyond my position and useless pride. How long will Rei have feelings for such me…”
“Claire-sama…”

I was thoughtless.
I was under the impression that Claire-sama had already completely adapted to losing her noble status.
Claire-sama is a former noble – and a former highest rank noble at that.
There’s no way such Claire-sama wouldn’t be anxious and confused by suddenly becoming a regular citizen.
What the hell was I looking at while wanting to stay with her and support her.

“Claire-sama, please calm down”
“Rei…”

I stood up, walked behind Claire-sama, and embraced her body.
To lessen her anxiety even if a little.
To convey my feelings.

“Even if you are no longer a noble, my feelings for Claire-sama are not shaken in the slightest. It’s not because Claire-sama is a noble that I love you”
“… Yeah. I understand that. Rei is such a person. But, what about Rei’s family? Lene and Misha?”
“Claire-sama…”

For Claire-sama, being a noble is her very way of life.
Enough that she tried to sacrifice herself for that way of life once.
She’s chosen to live with me now, but that doesn’t change that Claire-sama lost a large pillar of strength.
Of course Claire-sama would be unstable.

“Claire-sama, run for election”
“? Rei, we are talking about the ceremony now――”
“Yeah, I know that. But, if we have a wedding like that, I’m sure Claire-sama would feel empty”
“Why?”
“Claire-sama needs a new way of life. You need something to center your life around. Without it, you’ll continue being anxious”
“…”

Claire-sama pondered about it.
She surely understands.
She has nothing to stand on now.

I honestly wish it would be me.
I’d be lying if I said I don’t have a dark desire to spoil Claire-sama clinging to me for support.
But, that wouldn’t be good for Claire-sama.
In the unlikely event that I left this world for some reason, Claire-sama would truly be left without any support.
I can’t allow that.

“… I feel like I finally understand what Rei is trying to say”

After falling silent for a while, Claire-sama muttered so.
When I looked at her, the glint of a strong will returned to her eyes and Claire-sama’s face showed the usual unyielding spirit.

“Then?”
“No, I will not run for election”
“Eh?”

Claire-sama smiled at the confused me and continued.

“Being involved in politics as a member of the new administration would certainly be a rewarding job. Surely it would be a perfect purpose in life for me”
“Then…”
“But, that’s no good. Even though citizens carried out a revolution at great pains, if a person who symbolized the old regime remained in the center of politics, what would the revolution even be for”
“…”

If you read about the world history, even if a revolution or coup d’état occur, members of the old regime will remain to a certain extent in the new order, but Claire-sama seems to not wish for that.
Then, I can’t force her.

“But, I will search. For a way of life befitting me”
“Yes, I will support you”

Seeing Claire-sama get over it, I dropped a kiss on her hair.
Claire-sama leaked a ticklish voice.

I hope Claire-sama finds her way one day.
We can have the wedding afterwards.
I will wait forever.
The partner I will marry is Claire-sama, who is always cool like this.


Author’s note

Thank you for reading.
I am waiting for your ratings, comments, impressions.
I released a new work “Crying Hearts – If you find a crying heart -” on LINE novel.
For details, please look at the activity report.


< Previous | Next >

19 thoughts on “I Favor the Villainess Extra 2

  1. I still thinking that the autor have material for Continuum this novel maybi after history, for see how nowk the pair life in new orden, what i realle was confuse is the fact that’s cleare subordinates got unowk after some point and i really want to no”what happen to then”

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Thanks for the chapter!

    I squealed when the wedding was mentioned on this extra. I really would like to read that second part. Hopefully, there will be more Yuri time for the two of them on the second part while the invasion information is being explained

    Liked by 3 people

    1. It’s a “Yuri × Magic × School” urban fantasy story. I can’t find the actual synopsis anywhere, so here’s a small translated excerpt from the start.

      Have you ever thought that you want to become a doll.
      Have you ever felt annoyed by your aching heart whenever it’s difficult.
      I have.
      When was it that I started living like a doll.

      When was it that I came to think of myself as fake.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Translated the synopsis of the new work.

    Tag line

    To you, who’s been hurt and finds the hurt heart unpleasant.

    Synopsis

    Have you ever thought that you want to become a doll.
    Have you ever felt annoyed by your aching heart whenever it’s difficult.
    I have.
    When was it that I started living like a doll.

    When was it.
    That I came to think of myself as fake.

    The safety of Japan is threatened by terrorists called Neoepicureans.
    A girl – Kouko – who goes to a certain girls’ school in Tokyo meets one “girl”.
    No, can she really be called a girl.
    “She” is an android.
    Beings who call themselves magicians appear aiming at that android – Ichigo.
    Kouko gets dragged into the secret battle surrounding Ichigo.
    The author of “I Favor the Villainess” presents a modern fantasy girls love novel.

    ―― If you find a crying heart, what will you do?

    Liked by 3 people

  4. I really really hope this will later get english license as well. I would be happy to buy the copy TvT.
    Seven seas entertainment and yen press PLS HEAR ME OUT!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. As for a possible sequel, while it sounds good on paper it probably wouldn’t function well if it still centers around Rei and Claire. They both experienced and concluded their developments satisfactorily in “I Favor the Villainess”, both as individuals and as a couple. They have already settled themselves nicely into a life of peace with a family. To use them again as protagonists, you would have to rediscover them as characters by exploring some facet of them to develop. The only thing that comes to mind right now is exploring the darker parts of Rei’s personality that are always at the edge of the story but generally never really brought fully into the open, such as her possessiveness or manipulative tendencies, or even just testing how far she’s willing to go for her love of Claire.

    However, such a thing would likely go pretty off the way of the lighthearted tone of “I Favor the Villainess”.

    The other option is to use another protagonist, such as Lilly or Manaria, but… *Honestly, should I actually care about these people…*

    (Unless it turns into the story of how Rei and Claire welcomed Lily into a threesome marriage, in which case, **YURI AHOY!!**)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.