Outaishihi ni Nante Naritakunai!! Commemoration Story 1

She and the Long Ride 1

Author’s note

It’s a story to celebrate 30 000 000 PVs and the book reprint, still the chronological order was adjusted so there’s no problem with reading it as the continuation of the main story.
I might call it a commemoration story, but it’s a story only written because I wanted to write it. It’s been a long time since I wanted to let it out, lol.
I don’t regret it (`・д・´)キリッ

※ I apologize to those waiting for the main story. I’d be happy if you could read it, but please treat updates as stopped if you don’t want to (´・∀・`)


Even though it’s winter, it’s pleasantly warm today.
To begin with, winters in Wilhelm aren’t harsh, but today the weather is so comfortable a coat is unnecessary.
Because it felt pleasant, I went for a stroll without any aim. Be that as it may, I’m still within the castle grounds.
And so, when the stable casually caught my eye, I headed there on a whim.

“Uwa. What a beautiful horse”

Inside the stable, in a conspicuously large space was a single horse.
My eyes became glued to the large white horse with blue eyes.

“Who’s there… Oh… If it isn’t Princess Consort”

While I was deeply fascinated by the tremendously beautiful horse, a voice came from the inner part of the stable.
When I turned my head there, wondering if going by the voice tinged with anger it’s no good, I saw a small grey-haired old man staring at me in surprise.

“Um, I’m sorry. It’s a very beautiful horse, so I just”

When I apologized for coming in as I pleased, in a fluster the old man shook his head that it’s not like that at all.

“No no! It’s me who was rude. I would have never thought Princess Consort would come here…”

The old man apologized with his head lowered. He’s wearing overalls-like clothes. Probably he’s the person in charge of this stable.

“If I’m not a hindrance, I wonder if I could look a little longer”
“Please look as long as you like. Besides, it’s His Highness’s favorite horse. I believe His Highness will be delighted too”
“Eh? Freed’s?”
“Yes”

When I asked back in surprise, the old man looked at the horse with slackened mouth.
The white horse has a considerably large physique. When the small old man approaches it, in the worst case it seems he’d be trampled.
While affectionately gazing at the white horse, the old man spoke.

“This horse was born with a mutation. He had a rough temperament in his youth, and didn’t accept humans easily. He has a rare coat color and excellent physique. It was thought to be a perfect royal warhorse, but it would be meaningless if he wasn’t used to people. Since it couldn’t be helped, there were talks about selling him off… But, unexpectedly, His Highness was pleased with it”
“Freed was?”
“Yeah. His Highness spent time taking care of him himself… Before we knew, moved by His Highness’s affection, he became emotionally attached to His Highness”
“Hee…”

So there’s such a story.
Thinking of Freed taking care of a horse with his utmost effort, my mouth naturally slackened.
I looked up at the horse that snorted.
Pink skin with pure white coat. Blue eyes looking down at me.
While it stared at me, the old man awkwardly laughed.

“You better not get too close. Even if you’re Princess Consort, when the other party is Ventisca, His Highness wouldn’t allow it”
“Ventisca… Is that this horse’s name?”
“It’s a word in a northern language. He’s a horse extremely strong against cold”
“Amazing, what a fitting name”

It means snowstorm.
I think it’s a name that properly represents this pure white horse.
The blue eyes like Freed’s fixedly observed me.
It doesn’t look like his temperament is rough at all. While I stared back at it for some reason or another, he lowered his head, and nuzzled my face.

“Uwah”

I staggered from its nose rubbing me.
Because it’s a large horse, even If he’s not hostile it’s unbearable.
Panicked, the old man remonstrated Ventisca.

“Hey, Ventisca! Stop that! … However, how unusual. It’s the first time he took to a person he first met”
“Hyaaaaaa”

Rub rub, when I was rubbed even more I leaked a strange voice.
Although I have a disposition that makes it quite easy for animals to like me, I never would have thought he’d take to me from the start.
While he continued with me unable to do anything, arms wrapped around my waist and suddenly pulled me back.
Ventisca neighed in dissatisfaction.
In response, a strong reproaching voice resounded.

“Ventisca, stop at that”

Suddenly Ventisca stopped neighing.
Of course I knew who pulled me into his arms. That’s why I didn’t resist, nevertheless I was relieved to hear the voice I’d been expecting.

“Freed”

When I looked back, my eyes met Freed’s.
As he looked at me, his eyes narrowed. Strength filled the arms embracing me.

“Lidi, so you were in such a place. I came because I heard Ventisca’s voice, and I was right”
“I was a little curious. So this horse is Freed’s favorite. It’s very beautiful”

When I checked a wall clock, it was exactly Freed’s break time.
Apparently, he took the opportunity to look for me.
When I praised Ventisca, for some reason Freed wryly smiled.

“As always, you don’t even hide being a con woman, Lidi. No, would it be a horse woman this time?”
“What’s with that”

When I sullenly looked at Freed, he patted my head.

“When did you make Ventisca your captive? This horse should only be attached to me. What kind of trick did you use?”
“Eh… I have no idea. I haven’t done anything”

When I shook my head that I have no recollection of it, Freed approached Ventisca while still embracing me.
As if talking to a human, Freed called out to him.

“Ventisca, do you like Lidi too?”

Ventisca shook his head as if to affirm. It was somehow amusing.
While I stifled my laughter, stepping forward the old man said.

“It looks like it, Your Highness. It’s very unusual”
“Even though he’s a hard to please guy. Do you want to say you prefer Lidi over me who’s been taking care of you for years?”

As Freed said that in exasperation, the old man answered with an extremely serious face.

“I wonder if it’s love at first sight. He passionately stared at Princess Consort as if he was looking at a mare”
“Love at first sight… Even though he didn’t take that much to me. Ventisca, Lidi is mine, so it’s no good. I’ll look for your mate one of these days, so be patient”

Freed admonished the horse with a serious face.
As Ventisca snorted in dissatisfaction, Freed stroked him to calm him down.
His hand was unexpectedly gentle.
While slowly stroking Ventisca, Freed spoke to him.

“Ventisca, if you behave, I’ll go for a long ride with Lidi during the break. I’d always though you wouldn’t let anybody else ride on you, but if you’ve taken to her so much there’s no problem, right?”
“Freed?”

As Freed smiled like he came up with a good idea, I asked him what he’s talking about.
Freed immediately issued instruction tot the old man who stood on the side.

“Moore. Ventisca’s saddle. Prepare for a long ride”

The old man called Moore agreed.

“Yes. However, it’s been a considerably long time since the last long ride. Ventisca will surely be delighted”
“We have a good weather today too. We won’t go that far. Report to Alex that we’ll return by evening”
“To Lord Alexei? Is telepathic communication unusable?”
“I’d definitely be stopped if I talked with him directly. If I go, I won’t be able to hear his complaints, right?”

The old man stared at the nonchalant Freed in amazement, then raised a happy laugh.

“I could never imagine Your Highness doing something so careless until this year”

Freed too directed a playful smile at him.
I was fascinated by the unusual gesture.

“Me neither. I didn’t imagine it”
“You’re infatuated as the rumors say. As a retainer, I am as delighted as I can be about your happiness”
“Thank you. Then, I’m sorry, but please take care of the rest. There are no matters that I am needed for today, so it’s fine once in a while”
“It’s problematic to abandon your work, but it’s necessary to relax from time to time. Leave the communication to me”

Going by their conversation, I understood that apparently Freed will take me for a long ride now.
We got on the horse together.
I got excited by the situation that’s just like a date.
Happy about the unexpected development, I tightly grasped Freed’s clothes.
Having noticed that, Freed grinned with satisfaction.

“Lidi too wants to go outside the castle once in a while, don’t you. It’s only until evening, is that fine?”
“Yup, I’m happy”
“Let’s go as soon as the preparations are done. A date is necessary once in a while”

As I obediently nodded, Freed said that to me in a gentle voice.
We thanked the old man Moore who efficiently finished preparations, and decided to leave the Royal Capital for a forest.

◇◇◇

“Uwaa, feels good!”

With me in front of him, Freed lightly galloped the horse.
When he went through the outer gate and galloped the horse east for a little while, we reached a not-too-deep forest with a big lake inside.
It’s a well known location nobles use for things like picnics, but today I don’t see even a single person.

“There are no people”

I grumbled so while clinging to Freed so I don’t fall off.
He looked around and nodded.

“That’s right. But, don’t you think it’s better if it’s quiet?”
“Certainly”
“It’s irritating when it’s noisy”

As we left just like that, we’re not disguised today.
It’s clear there’d be an uproar if we were exposed.
By the way, while we were passing through town I hid under Freed’s mantle.
I thought it’d be troublesome if I had my face exposed to the citizens.
The horse had galloped until the lake.
I got off the horse and looked around.
Witnessing the beautiful nature for the first time in a while, a sigh of admiration escaped me.
While Freed was taking care of Ventisca, I parted from him and alone approached the water’s surface.

“Waa…”

The tranquil water was so clear it looked like the bottom was visible.
I have fond memories of coming here with Older Brother and others several times when I was a child.
Having finished tying up the horse, Freed came to me and said worriedly.

“It’s dangerous to get close. Don’t lean forward too much”
“Yup”

Careful not to fall down, I put my hand in the lake.
I got sweaty while riding the horse.
So the cold feeling felt good.

“It sure is quiet…”

I can only hear the splashing of water I cause.
It really looks like there’s nobody but us here today.
Sometimes the chirping of birds resounds from the completely silent depth of the forest.
Illuminated by the sun, the lake’s surface sparkles.
It’s a scenery that seems like it’s cut out of a story.
While I was enjoying the atmosphere, Freed peacefully hugged me from behind.
Slowly as if to tease him I looked back at him with a soft, restrained smile, and met his blue eyes.

“Lidi”
“Nn, Freed…”

Freed’s face spontaneously approached. I also closed my eyes in response.
Irritated about the awkward position, I tried to turn my head a little more by twisting around.
Then――――.

“Fueh!?”
“Lidi!?”

Perhaps as the result of the unnatural posture, my left foot slipped.
I heard Freed’s panicked voice. The next moment――――.
Splashing the water, I fell into the lake.


< Previous | Next >

9 thoughts on “Outaishihi ni Nante Naritakunai!! Commemoration Story 1

  1. Maybe I just have a dirty mind but I was wondering if I’m the only one who suspect they might do “it” outside, on this date? 😂

    As always, I’m grateful for your translation, thank you! 🌻

    Liked by 6 people

  2. Thanks for the chapter!

    This chapter is labeled “1” on Novel Updates. I would normally send a message to them myself, but I guessed wrongly last time on how to label the special chapters, so maybe you should message them since you know what chapters will show up in the future.

    Like

  3. Thank you for the chapter!
    My top favorite scenes in this chapter :
    1. Freed talking seriously with horse
    2. Lidi destroying the perfect moment by falling down
    3. Lidi is being treated like a mare by Ventisca

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Personally, I think Ventisca became like that because of Freed’s scent on Lidi as mentioned by Will in the previous chapter due to him being affectionate particularly towards Freed…

      Liked by 3 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.